Lime, Grapefruit and Ginger Juice

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons natural cane sugar
2 tablespoons ginger, peeled then grated
1 cup / 240 ml water

very scant 1/2 cup / 95 ml fresh lime juice – 2 juicy limes

1 1/3 cups / 310 ml fresh grapefruit juice – 2 juicy grapefruits

Steps:

In a small saucepan, over medium heat, stir together the sugar, ginger, and water. Simmer for 5 minutes, transfer to a glass bowl or cup, and place in the freezer for a few minutes to cool.

Strain the ginger into a pitcher along with the lime and grapefruit juices. You can either strain the citrus juices or leave them pulpy, just be sure to catch any seeds before they go in. Stir and taste, if you want a bit more sugar, go for it, but I find this plenty sweet. Serve straight in a tiny chilled glass with ice. Or use a splash to freshen up a glass of sparkling water.

Makes about 2 cups / 1 pint.

Adapted from Breakfast, Lunch, Tea: The Many Little Meals of Rose Bakery

 

Prep time: 5 min – Cook time: 5 min

You can find the website and actual recipe from this site: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/lime-grapefruit-and-ginger-juice-recipe.html

 

 

About bikingsibs3

I'm a high school Senior at Saint Joseph. I run cross-country, play soccer, and race bikes. I love to bake and cook with my mom, mostly so that I will be able to survive on my own in college. This past Summer I biked to North Carolina with my two brothers. It was over 1,100 miles! I'm a twin, and the youngest of four. I want to be an Early Education teacher when I go to college, mostly teaching kindergarten. I hope that you enjoy my blog! (Any food recipe not stated was either from my Foods teacher, Mrs. Berry, a student of hers, from my own home, or as I hate to say it a mix/bag/box.) There are pages up top of this bio page and then there are also separate categories with actual recipes down below to the side (under the Archives). Please explore to your hearts desire!

Posted on February 12, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

